Planning for season 2024/25 – Midfielders

Intro

Welcome to my first blog not only for StocksFC but my first one …ever so please be gentle!

I recently joined StocksFC in January 2024 and am really enjoying the platform & community in the Discord channel. If you haven’t already joined the discord then you are missing out!

I have a fairly slim portfolio of 23 players spread across all positions with the aim to maximise my TOTW, month and season chances plus enjoy the platform.

The aim of this blog is to look where the midfield category could land with the current players we have on the Stocks platform and which new midfielders could fair well in the 2024/2025 season.

As i write this we have just under a third of the Premier League season to go but I have been looking ahead to next season and how my portfolio could fair. I plan to produce similar content for all positions but I thought I would start with the most competitive – Midfielders.

Team of the season (TOTS) 2023/24 so far…

This seasons TOTS tables are hotting up. With players joining throughout the season next years tables could look very different with the majority of players starting on an even playing field plus some big IPO’s to come. The current TOTS table as of the 19.03.23 can be seen below kindly produced by the StocksFC discord legend Nobby Stiles:

Bruno F is a great example of how different TOTS could look with him on 850 points after on 19 games on the platform!

My Player Comparison Model

I’m sure most Stocks traders have their own way of comparing/valuing players stats and prices on Stocks with the most famous being Nobbys BIM which he kindly shares players info in the Stocks discord. I have built my own BTEC model which I have been using for a month.

Using the players stats so far this season it populates what i call their all around (AA) score made up of shots on target, Key passes, interceptions, tackles etc plus their games score which is made up of goals, assists, yellow and red cards plus the win bonus. The parameters obviously depend on position with GK and defenders having clean sheets, goals conceded factored in for eg.

Looking ahead to TOTS 2024/25

So lets start looking ahead. We already have some of the big Premier League big hitters on StocksFC but there are others to come who could be challenging week in week out for TOTW, Month and season.

The two of the most exciting midfielder IPO’s i am most looking forward to joining are unsurprisingly Odegaard and Palmer. Saka would be right up there but I expect he will join Stocks as a forward so i will cover him in that write up. Quick spoiler wherever Saka sits he is going to be a must hold on Stocks and future market cap leader in my opinion.

At the end of this write up i will share who i think could be the top performing midfielders next season on Stocks according to my model.

Martin Odegaard

I knew Odegaard was going to be a great fit for the matrix but I was surprised how good! Six goals and assists in the Prem alone this season averaging around 3 KP per game and Arsenal having another impressive season put Ode right in the mix with the big boys for me. With the Nations League starting in September (presuming this is covered and Ode has been IPOd) he is ticking every box especially with him only being 25 years old.

Cole Palmer

What a season Palmer has had at Chelsea so far and he has recently gained a much deserved call up to the England squad. 11 goals and 8 assists in 19 starts for Chelsea so far this season in the Prem is an unbelievable return. His AA score is lagging behind Ode for example and only 9 win bonuses in the Prem compared to Ode 18 hurts his game score. IF Chelsea improve next season and Palmer continues these type of returns he could be a real Stock contender week in week out and over the season.

Current midfield big hitters

There wont be too many surprises in this section with Kevin De Bruyne leading my midfield table and if he can stay fit he will undoubtedly be challenging next season. Second in my midfield table is Foden who has been sensational this season and i think he only gets better.

Bruno Fernandes only joined Stocks in December 23 and he is already chasing down the TOTS midfielders. I think he has too much to do this season but expect him to be right up there in 2024/25. Will Bernardo Silva stay or will he go is probably the biggest question around owning him as we move into 2024/25. If he stays then he looks a very nice price for a consistent performer plus his 15,000 supply is one of the lowest in the current top ranking mids.

Both Rodri and Declan Rice slip down the midfielder table for next season in my model. I own both of these players and will hold them but i don’t think they will find regular totw and month rewards so easy as we move forward and on a level playing field. With Rice only having a 4300 supply any win for him in TOTW, month or season is a tidy payday for holders.

Season 2024/2025 – Midfielders

So what is my model saying for next season presuming with have Odegaard and Palmer onboard. This can be seen below with each players AA, game and total model score:

Now before I get lynched there are some things to consider;

Bruno Fernandes numbers are slightly skewed with United’s poor start to the season and lack of win bonuses. This has really improved since the turn of the year with 9 wins in 12 matches compared only 4 in the previous 12 matches.

Eze has placed highly on here but his data is slightly limited with only 15 Prem starts this season compared to Bruno with 27. He is a player I hold and I am hoping for a big transfer next season.

Gross is Stocks favourite and a player I really enjoyed holding until recently when the transfer rumours to Germany heated up. His AA stats are right up there but Brighton do struggle for win bonuses with 11 wins in 28 matches so far this season.

Finally the two Liverpool midfielders Mac Allister and Szoboszlai who have been great Stocks holds this season especially Mac who has an incredibly low supply of around 5000 stocks. Mac has recently seen a huge boost to his scores taking penalties and most set pieces with the likes of Salah, Trent and Robertson being out injured. With all three expected back after the international break it will be interesting to see how his scores are effected but with such a low supply he is a very fun hold. Plus there is the new manager effect next season to consider.

Conclusion

So to conclude: we have the majority of the midfielder’s on Stocks that I think will be challenging week in week out next season and for the big prize pots in TOTM and season but a level playing field and Odegaard joining will likely change the landscape in the midfielder category.

As mentioned above i expect Saka to be a forward on StocksFC but wherever he sits he is going to be a must hold on Stocks and future market cap leader in my opinion. His scores are incredible!

There are a lot of presumptions around transfers, player & team form, manager changes, when will the new IPOS land …. I could go on. I have tried to summarise my thought process but the great thing about StocksFC is there is lots of ways to play the game. I will be using this data to move some players on that I own ready for next season. Will that be the right move? time will tell.

I hope you have found this blog useful and interesting especially if you are starting on your StocksFC journey. If you have read this far I appreciate your time and any help or feedback is appreciated.

Where do I sign up and start playing?

You can sign up using the link below and all new users will receive 3 loan players for free to test out the platform and you get to keep any rewards you earn. Drop me a DMif you are interested and i am happy to help.

https://app.stocksfc.com/signup?r=uvVWuP9HDMZp1BQka6HOGIri8UX2

If you have any questions please contact me on X @PJO09 or on discord PJ0009#1492

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started